Heartbreaker Top with Cry Cry Cry

An underrated part of any pinups wardrobe is the separates and basics. While beautiful dresses are the staple of pinup wardrobes, it’s good to have a variety of tops, skirts and pants. A wee while ago, Fran of Cry Cry Cry reached out to me and asked if I would review one of her new tops on my blog, and of course, I said yes!

Cry Cry Cry is a vintage inspired clothing company made by Fran and based in Wellington, NZ. From the Cry Cry Cry website:

Are you inspired by the elegance of the 1950s and 1960s? So are we!

Here at Cry Cry Cry we want to help you look as chic as Audrey Hepburn, as sassy as Marilyn Monroe and as sexy as Brigitte Bardot. We have pinup basics and feature pieces to suit your vintage look.

All Cry Cry Cry clothing is made with love in New Zealand to our own original designs.

Fran gave me options for what I wanted to review and I picked the Heartbreaker top in black. From the Cry Cry Cry website:

You little heartbreaker! This darling top features a sweetheart neckline and short, slightly puffed sleeves. Made is stretchy poplin in a cotton/elastane blend for a perfect comfortable fit. This top is styled with a seam and darts under the bust and back waist dart to hug your curves. Fastens with a concealed side zip.

Just the thing for wearing with full or fitted skirts, jeans or skirts. Can be worn tucked in or loose.

pic 1

I adore the sweetheart neckline and the little puffy sleeves. What I love about this top is that you could dress it up or down depending on the outfit and accessories and it’s definitely appropriate for work. Some sweetheart necklines get a touch too daring for the office, but I’d say (unless your workplace is very conservative) this would be office appropriate. I can be a little self-conscious about my arms too, so the puffy cap sleeves are perfect for covering up that problem area.

pic 2

I’m wearing a size small in this, when I’m normally a medium in other brands. I found this particular cut runs a little large, so be sure to double check your measurements before buying. The Heartbreaker tops run from XS to XXL and currently comes in black and white on the website, but Fran assures me other colours will be available soon.

pic 3

The top retails for $75.00NZD, which is on par with the price of many pinup basic tops. You can find Cry Cry Cry online here, or at the following NZ retailers:

Missy’s Room
Two Lippy Ladies
Rita Sue Clothing
Kabella Baby

pic 4

Full outfit details:

Top – Heartbreaker top from Cry Cry Cry
Skirt – Unique Vintage
Petticoat – Banned Apparel from Bleu Foxxx Shop
Jacket – Collectif (no longer available)
Bangles – Splendette
Sunglasses – La Femme En Noir (no longer available)
Lippy – Wild Orchid by Besame Cosmetics
Hair Flower – Rita Sue Clothing

So please go check out Cry Cry Cry! I know she has a few items on sale right now – I wouldn’t pass that up if I were you… And tell me, what brands should I try next? Are there any NZ based brands in particular that you want to give a shout out to? Or do you already have something from Cry Cry Cry? Let me know in the comments!

Lots of love,
Mrs Greatnews xx

Leave a Reply

