A Whirlwind Weekend (Or Six)

Hey lovely, I hope you’re having a fabulous day! I haven’t written a blog post in a wee while (as you can tell, my resolution of writing weekly is going so well), so I thought I’d catch you up on what I’ve been up to lately.

Let’s start back at the end of April.

So if you’re not from New Zealand, on 25 April every year we commemorate Anzac (Australia New Zealand Army Corps) Day. This day is a public holiday and fell on a Tuesday this year, so I took a four day weekend with a quick trip to Napier to see my family.

C-DHqhtU0AAsO8M

Hung out with my beautiful sister Charlie, who I hadn’t seen since November! She went on a two month trip to America.

C-E9BnXUIAAbIHM

And then we went to the Aquarium, where I behaved like a totally normal adult.

C-E8_BaUAAA22sP

Totally. Normal.

Then the following weekend Haydn and I took another quick trip, this time to Auckland to see Hans Zimmer with some friends on the Saturday and to have a photo shoot with The Undefined Photography on the Sunday, a prize I won on Facebook back in January.

Play the video below for some live Pirates of the Caribbean theme goodness. And me going “wooooooo!”

🚢💀 absolute B A N G E R 💀🚢

A post shared by Jordan Tini (@thatguyxenojay) on

On the Sunday, myself, Katherine from The Undefined Photography and Fran Robertson went to the Auckland Domain Wintergardens for a pinup friendship themed shoot. Check out the slideshow below for a few of my favourite shots.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re needing a photographer, I can highly recommend Katherine. Her photos are absolutely stunning and she does such a fantastic job of coaching her subjects.

So straight after the shoot, Haydn and I headed to the airport to fly home that night. We were on the plane, about to fly into Wellington, ready to make our descent when… we feel the plane heading back up. It was too windy to fly into Wellington that night.

As you can tell, I wasn’t impressed. I had work the next day as well as an audition (which I’ll get back to in a second). To Jetstar’s credit, they kept us fairly well informed, checked us in to a fairly nice hotel nearby and gave us free breakfast. We managed to get back in on an early-ish flight the next day. I made it to work and my audition and all was well.

Then the next weekend, Haydn and I went on a cheetah encounter at Wellington Zoo! It was Haydn’s gift to me for our 10th dating anniversary earlier this year. Check out the video of one of them purring below. You’ll want to turn your sound up for this.

Unmute to hear a cheetah purring! You won't regret it! 🐱

A post shared by Libby Greatnews (@mrsgreatnews) on

Then the weekend after that was my first social media giveaway! I had a few entries on each of my social channels (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram) and the winners seemed thrilled with their prizes.

Thank you to everyone who entered and congrats to the winners! Let me know in the comments if you’d like me to do another giveaway sometime and what you’d like to see in it.

And then the weekend after that (we’re getting close to the end, I promise), I was a roaming suffragette at the He Tohu Whanau Day. Remember that audition I was afraid of missing? That’s what that was for!

Today I am a suffragette at the #HeTohu Whanau Day! If you're in Wellington, come on down!

A post shared by Libby Greatnews (@mrsgreatnews) on

I donned a wig and Edwardian dress with my fellow suffragettes, Ari and Charlie, and wandered around the exhibition in character, singing suffragette protest songs. To explain very briefly, He Tohu is an exhibition displaying three of New Zealand’s constitutional documents – He Whakaputanga – the Declaration of Independence, Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi and the Women’s Suffrage Petition.

And then last weekend (all caught up now!) I flew to Auckland to attend a congratulatory soiree for Miss Monique Sweet and Dariel Dearlove for their success at Viva Las Vegas and to have a shoot with the fantastic Elizabeth J Photography (a prize I won in a raffle from The Beauty School Dropouts).

This was my look from the night of the soiree – I picked up a fabulous 80s does 50s gown from Etsy for the occasion. It was so lovely to meet other pinups in person and I wish I had taken more photos!

On the Sunday, it was time for my shoot with Liz and The Beauty School Dropouts! Liz is so sweet and a fantastic photographer. I’ve only seen a few photos so far, but I can’t wait to see the rest.

The Beauty School Dropouts made me look fabulous, and Miss Monique Sweet coached me through the modeling side of things. The Beauty School Dropouts and Elizabeth J Photography offer a photoshoot package at the same diner I went to for this shoot, so if you’re able to, I highly recommend doing it.

And that’s all for now! It’s been a pretty intense couple of months, but I don’t have a lot else planned for the near future. Hopefully that means I can pump out more blog posts and work on some personal projects. And play video games. All important things to be done.

I’d like to extend a special thank you to a few people for helping make these things happen – my lovely husband Haydn, to my family for a lovely weekend, to Fran (who has been such a fabulous friend), to Katherine of The Undefined Photography, to Monique and to Liz of Elizabeth J Photography.

How have you been lately? Done any cool or exciting things in the last couple of months? Let me know in the comments!

Lots of love,
Mrs Greatnews xx

 

Leave a Reply

