Let’s Talk – Acne – The Follow-up

Hey lovely, I hope you’re having a wonderful day! I’ve been silent on the blog for a couple of weeks due to being pretty busy at work and outside of work. I thought now was a good time to follow up on my acne post from February.

I’ve been on my acne medication for nearly three months now and I’m nearing the end of my prescription. This was my skin before, when I had first started the meds:

acne-2-smallacne-1-small

As you can see, I had zits on my chin, along my jawline and my cheeks.

This is my skin now:

acne 1acne 2acne 3

My skin is so much better now. I’m rarely getting whiteheads, I’ve noticed fewer blackheads and I haven’t had cystic acne in over a month.

So how did the meds go?

In the last post, I listed all of the side effects including:

  • Acid reflux
  • Sensitivity to sunlight
  • Acne might get worse
  • It might not work

I didn’t have any issues with the first two, or not noticeably, but my acne did get worse. About halfway through my prescription, the acne on my cheeks became noticeably worse, with both blackheads and whiteheads becoming a common occurrence. If you look closely at the photos, I have some light scarring along my cheeks that I didn’t have before, but I’m not too bothered by it. I’m hoping it’ll either fade with time or I can have some treatments that will lessen their appearance.

So what’s your skincare routine?

Since going to the dermatologist, I’ve changed up my skincare routine to using the following products:

  • Aspect Dr deep clean facial cleanser
  • Aspect Dr exfol A plus serum
  • Aspect Dr active C serum
  • Aspect Dr Resveratrol moisturising cream
  • Synergie Uberzinc moisturiser

So I cleanse morning and night, use the C serum and Uberzinc moisturiser in the morning and the A serum and Resveratrol moisturising cream at night.

How’s it all going?

Overall, I’m really happy with the changes in my skin. My diet hasn’t changed drastically, so I’m 95% certain that it’s down to the skincare regime and medication. I do keep forgetting my medication on occasion, but that’s because I can’t take it at the same time as my iron tablets because they interfere with the absorption of the iron.

I have an appointment with my dermatologist later in the month, so I’ll report on if there’s any further steps from here.

So how’s your skincare routine? What’s your best tips for if you had a breakout?

Lots of love,
Mrs Greatnews xx

Leave a Reply

