Things I love right now

Happy Monday my lovelies! I’ve just gotten back from a whirlwind trip to Napier to say goodbye to my little sister before she jets off to America. To keep the content flowing, I thought I’d share just a few things I’ve been loving, because sharing is caring. ❤

None of this content is sponsored, just my own personal opinions and experiences.

Besame Cosmetics

A staple in many pinup’s routines, I finally joined the Besame Cosmetics bandwagon a couple of months ago. In their lipsticks I have Red Hot Red, Red Velvet (worn by Agent Carter), Exotic Pink and Portrait Pink.

besame-cosmetics

Top left: Exotic Pink; Top right: Red Velvet; Bottom left: Portrait Pink; Bottom right: Red Hot Red.

Despite red being a pinup staple, I lean more towards their pink lipsticks at this point in time, with Exotic Pink being my favourite. Exotic Pink is a really vibrant intense pink, Red Velvet is a beautiful deep blue red, Portrait Pink is a blush nude (think ‘My Lips But Better’ type colour) and Red Hot Red is a pure red (not too warm or cool) that would most likely suit anyone.

 

The lipsticks are a satin finish with intense pigmentation, so they don’t leave your lips feeling dry. I find I only need to touch them up once or twice throughout the day depending on what I’ve been eating or drinking.

Besame lipsticks.png

And the packaging is SO PRETTY.

Besame Cosmetics can be shipped through YouShop (at time of writing), but you can also get them from a number of NZ stockists.

Erstwilder brooches

Saying I’m obsessed with Erstwilder is possibly putting it lightly. About three months ago I owned zero Erstwilder brooches and now I’m up to 15!

erstwilder-pins

This is just a selection of my Erstwilder brooches.

What struck me about them (especially when I got my first one after umming and ahhing for a while) is the quality. The colours are vibrant and the designs are creative. They add that extra ‘wow’ to your outfit, especially if you manage to get it completely colour coordinated.

You can get Erstwilder brooches direct or from NZ stockists. My favourite NZ haunts are Kabella Baby, Pinned On You and Two Lippy Ladies.

Enamel pins

Enamel pins are very ‘in’ right now and I have faves from a couple of different places I want to share.

Vixen by Micheline Pitt has the most amazing pinup clothes on the market right now, but they’re a wee bit expensive (and definitely on the list of things to buy). So to tide myself over, I’ve purchased some of the enamel pins and they are stunning. They’re a decent size and perfectly encapsulate Micheline’s iconic pinup art style.

Vixen by Micheline Pitt pins.png

Not pictured: My ‘Not Today Satan’ pin, which is about 4cm x 4cm (approx. 1.5 inches by 1.5 inches). Pins pictured here are about 5cm x 3cm (approx. 2 inches x 1 inch).

You can buy direct from Vixen by Micheline Pitt on Etsy or from NZ Stockists, including Two Lippy Ladies.

My other place to recommend is a friend of mine, Oh You Fox. A lot less pinup, but still pins necessary for any collection.

Oh You Fox pins.png

The Calico Kitty one is my favourite.

Vix’s pins incorporate her unique and adorable art style with her view of the world as a feminist, cat lady and wonderfully awkward person. The only one I haven’t worn out is the ‘Accidentally Thriving’ pin, but otherwise I like to coordinate my outfits around the pins so they really pop.

Get your Oh You Fox pins direct from ohyoufox.com.

Pokémon Sun

Not pinup related in the slightest, but I’m enjoying playing Pokémon Sun. I’ve been playing Pokémon since the Gold/Silver/Crystal era. They’ve changed up the formula since and I’m not 100% on board with all of the changes, but overall I’m pretty happy.

Small complaint though, the clothes in this game (at least as far as I’ve gotten so far) are a bit boring and as far as I can tell you can’t get blue hair. Come on Nintendo/The Pokémon Company, may I have blue hair pretty please?

And those are the things I love that I’d like to share this week! What products have you been enjoying lately? What products should I check out next?

Lots of love,
Mrs Greatnews xx

Leave a Reply

