Blue hair, duh ba dee da ba dye

I get asked a lot of questions (like, a lot) about my hair. Having maintained blue hair for nearly four years now, I figured it was time to start cataloging these somewhere. This will probably be part one of a who-knows-how-many part series on blue hair and maintenance thereof, so let’s crack into it.

Please note that I am not a qualified hairdresser, so not only is this all my own personal experience with blue hair, but what works for me may not work for you. Please consult a professional before making any extreme changes to your hair

then-and-now

We’ve come a long way in three years.

 

How long have you had blue hair for?

I can’t remember the exact date of my blueniversary, but it was sometime in May 2013. The photo above shows that it wasn’t a particularly deep shade or even a very blue shade of blue. I had some coworkers refer to it as green and I can definitely see where they got that from now, even if I was huffy about it at the time.

How do you get your hair so blue?

I feel like this question is better broken down into two parts…

Part 1: What hair dye do you use?

My preferred brand is Directions. At this very moment, my hair has three different colours in it. The base colour is Atlantic Blue, with streaks of Alpine Green and Violet. I either buy my dye from Cosmic or from Calico Jacks on TradeMe.

directions-hair-dye

Obligatory product photo.

Part 2: What’s the process for dying your hair?

I currently get my hair done at Vivo on Dixon Street by Bonnie. She’s been my hairdresser for about two years now and has experimented with different hair colours herself, so you know she knows how to do this.

Bonnie bleaches my roots and then applies the colour for me. She wraps my head in tin foil and plastic wrap and sends me on my merry way home. If this sounds like a massive oversimplification, that’s because it is. The process takes around four hours at the salon and then I leave the colour in for anywhere between four to twelve hours. I sometimes sleep with the dye in.

getting-hair-done-montage

A montage of the process of getting my hair done.

How often do you get your colour touched up?

Every four to six weeks, but sometimes longer.

How often do you wash your hair?

Two to three times a week.

What’s the health of your hair like?

My hairdresser says it’s pretty healthy. I brush it a couple of times a day, use a mask once a week, get regular trims and avoid heat styling where possible.

Why blue?

Honestly I wish I had a good reason for this, but I don’t. I became bored of my hair colour one day and randomly picked blue and here we are three years later.

How does your hair hold other colours?

I couldn’t really tell you. I’ve had a few different colours over the years (blonde, brunette, really really dark brown), but blue is the only bright colour I’ve gone for.

libbys-hair-montage

Montage of hair colours and also proof I can’t make a normal face in photos.

What products do you use?

I used to be a fan of Redken Color Extend Magnetics, but my hairdresser recently had me change brands. I’m now using KMS California Color Vitality shampoo and Moist Repair conditioner. For my hair mask, I’m using Goldwell Dualsenses Blondes & Highlights 60 Sec Treatment, because obviously with blue hair, you need to bleach any colour it ever once had out of it.

And that’s all for now! If you have any further questions, leave a comment below, find me on Instagram or tweet me your question at @MrsGreatnews.

Lots of love,
Mrs Greatnews xx

Leave a Reply

